Recommendations

21 Diverse MG Books That Should Be On Your Radar

Hello everyone! I realised that 90% of my books are YA and the remaining are Adult Fiction. It’s been a long time since I have read a Middle Grade book. I have been seeing such amazing and intriguing MG books around and I am really excited to read them. I decided to make a list of 21 Diverse MG books I added on my TBR and which you should as well! You can click on the titles to add them on Goodreads!

Aru Shah series by Roshani Chokshi 

This book is a fantasy inspired from Hindu Mythology following Aru Shah who finds out she has to finds reincarnations of the Pandava brothers and journey through Kingdom of Death.

aru shah

Dragon Pearl by Yoon Ha Lee

THIRTEEN-YEAR-OLD MIN comes from a long line of fox spirits. But you’d never know it by looking at her. To keep the family safe, Min’s mother insists that none of them use any fox-magic, such as Charm or shape-shifting. They must appear human at all times.

dragon pearl

The Bridge Home by Padma Venkatraman

This book takes place in India where two kids run away to live on the streets and team up with two boys who show them the ways of the street.

the bridge room

Amal Unbound by Aisha Saeed

This is a story about 12 year old Amal who dreams of becoming a teacher and lives in a Pakistani village.

amal unbound

Amina’s Voice by Hena Khan 

Amina has never been comfortable in the spotlight. She is happy just hanging out with her best friend, Soojin. Except now that she’s in middle school everything feels different. Soojin is suddenly hanging out with Emily, one of the “cool” girls in the class, and even talking about changing her name to something more “American.”

amina's voice

Genesis Begins Again by Alicia D Williams

This novel tells the story of a thirteen-year-old who is filled with self-loathing and must overcome internalized racism and a verbally abusive family to finally learn to love herself.

Genesis

The Moon Within by Aida Salazar

Celi Rivera’s life swirls with questions. About her changing body. Her first attraction to a boy. And her best friend’s exploration of what it means to be genderfluid. A dazzling story told with the sensitivity, humor, and brilliant verse of debut talent Aida Salazar.

the moon within

Sal & Gabi Break the Universe by Carlos Hernandez

A sassy entropy sweeper, a documentary about wedgies, a principal who wears a Venetian bauta mask, and heaping platefuls of Cuban food are just some of the delights that await in his mind-blowing novel gift-wrapped in love and laughter.

sal and gabi break the universe

Other Words for Home by Jasmine Warga

Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives.

other words for home

Pie in the Sky by Remy Lai 

Told in prose and graphic novel elements, this middle-grade novel is about a boy’s immigration experience, his annoying little brother, and their cake-baking hijinks!

pie in the sky

My Fate According to the Butterfly by Gail D Villanueva

This is an ownvoices middle grade novel in which tough topics are addressed and this novel is immersive and described as emotional.

my fate according to the butterfly

The Gauntlet by Karuna Riazi 

A trio of friends from New York City find themselves trapped inside a mechanical board game that they must dismantle in order to save themselves and generations of other children in this action-packed debut that’s a steampunk Jumanji with a Middle Eastern flair.

the gauntlet

The Serpent’s Secret by Sayantani DasGupta

A book about Kiranmala who is an inter dimensional demon slayer but she is not aware of it yet. It is on the morning of her 12th birthday that things change.

the serpent's secret

The Dragon Warrior by Katie Zhao 

Inspired by Chinese mythology, this richly woven contemporary middle-grade fantasy, full of humor, magic, and heart, will appeal to readers who love Roshani Chokshi and Sayantani DasGupta.

the dragon warrior

Front Desk by Kelly Yang

This book is about Mia Tang who lives in a motel which her parents manage. It’s about her life. her dreams and the immigrants her parents are hiding. It will take all of Mia’s courage, kindness, and hard work to get through this year. Will she be able to hold on to her job, help the immigrants and guests, escape Mr. Yao, and go for her dreams?

front desk

All the Ways Home by Elsie Chapman 

After losing his mom in a fatal car crash, Kaede Hirano–now living with a grandfather who is more stranger than family–developed anger issues and spent his last year of middle school acting out. This is a book about what home means to us—and that there are many different correct answers

all the ways home

Lalani of the Distant Sea- Erin Entrada Kelly

Inspired by Filipino folklore, Lalani of the Distant Sea introduces readers to a landscape of magical creatures, such as Bai-Vinca, the enormous birdwoman; Ditasa Ulod, part woman, part eel; the mindoren, a race of creatures modeled after the water buffalo; and the whenbo — trees that eat the souls of the dead.

lalani

Some Place More Than Others- Renée Watson 

This is a powerful story about family, the places that make us who we are, and how we find ways to connect to our history across time and distance.

some places more than others

More to the Story-Hena Khan 

This story is inspired by Louisa May Alcott’s beloved classic, Little Women, featuring four sisters from a modern American Muslim family living in Georgia.

more to the story

The Twelve-Cindy Lin 

The Zodiac Legacy meets Spirit Animals in this epic, own-voices middle grade fantasy duology.

the twelve

Strange Birds- Celia C Pérez

The story of four kids who form an alternative Scout troop that shakes up their sleepy Florida town. When three very different girls find a mysterious invitation to a lavish mansion, the promise of adventure and mischief is too intriguing to pass up.

strange birds

Untitled design

Are you a fan of Middle Grade Books ? Which is your favourite book ? Is there any book which you have on your TBR as well ? Tell me about it!

Add a heading

Advertisements

19 thoughts on “21 Diverse MG Books That Should Be On Your Radar

  1. Wow Krisha, this is an amazing list. I know only a handful of these but thanks for introducing so many new reads to me. I love reading middle-grade books. I would also like to add The Night Dairy by Veera Hiranandani to the list, in case you haven’t read that already 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been thinking of trying MG books recently as I read a raving review of Pie in the Sky. Honestly, I think this genre has the best covers out. They’re stunning! I love this post and the diverse rep! We should be reading and sharing more of these books ❤ Quite a few of these are on my TBR now – so thank you for sharing!

    Like

  3. So many of these sound so good! I’m going to save this list for some future Christmas presents for my oldest kid. He is 10 and I know so many of these are right up his alley. It’s also fun for us to both read a book and then talk about it after 😍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s