reviews

REVIEW|| Empire of Sand-Tasha Suri // Atmospheric, Riveting and Beautiful Fantasy you MUST read

Synopsis: A nobleman’s daughter with magic in her blood. An empire built on the dreams of enslaved gods. Empire of Sand is Tasha Suri’s captivating, Mughal India-inspired debut fantasy.

empire of sand

The Amrithi are outcasts; nomads descended of desert spirits, they are coveted and persecuted throughout the Empire for the power in their blood. Mehr is the illegitimate daughter of an imperial governor and an exiled Amrithi mother she can barely remember, but whose face and magic she has inherited.

When Mehr’s power comes to the attention of the Emperor’s most feared mystics, she must use every ounce of will, subtlety, and power she possesses to resist their cruel agenda.

Should she fail, the gods themselves may awaken seeking vengeance…

Empire of Sand is a lush, dazzling fantasy novel perfect for readers of City of Brass and The Wrath & the Dawn. (Goodreads) 

Publication Date: November 13th, 2018

Genres: Adult, Fantasy

Trigger Warnings

Scenes of Verbal and Physical Abuse

 

Ratings: 4.5/5

Untitled design (1)

Empire of Sand is a South Asian inspired fantasy and it follows the story of Mehr and Amun. Mehr is the illegitimate daughter of the Governor of Irinah and is a dancer. She is half Amrithi by blood and is isolated from most of the people. It is the story of how she overcomes difficulties while being true to herself.

Atmospheric Fantasy

The setting of Empire of Sand is  atmospheric, lush and beautiful. The book plays in front of you while you read it and it has a kind of a dark and alluring feel to it. It is well-written and the writing style is captivating and Tasha Suri does a brilliant job of bringing her story to life.

Fleshed out Characters

Mehr is a passionate character. Her passion for dance really struck a cord with me She wants to stay true to herself and I really loved her character development. You can clearly see the growth she goes through to become a self confident person. She is comfortable in her rituals and heritage and accpets them confidently. Amun is quiet and brooding at first. But he grows into a strong, sweet character with a lot of depth. All the characters were fleshed out and well written.

Interesting Story

The story was really interesting. It talked about the problem of believing in someone blindly, it talks about discrimination, gods getting angry and humans obsession with “being good and doing right”. The magic for Mehr and Amun comes from dancing and the descriptions are an absolute treat to read about.

South Asian Inspired

Reading a fantasy inspired from South Asia -which is Mughal India inspired- was a big delight for me. Reading about characters whose names I could pronounce easily  and which were relatable and whose appearances were familiar and the dance rites was similar to the Indian Classical dances, was a highlight of this book for me.

Pacing

The pacing of the book varies at points. In the start the pacing is good and it does get slow in the middle and then again near the end , the pacing picks up. This is one of the points I-personally-wasn’t fully comfortable with. But honestly it did not affect the feel and fun of the book.

This book also has s super gorgeous cover and it definitely reflects the beauty within!

Empire of Sand is a riveting and amazing fantasy. It is immersive and really well written. It has intriguing characters with interesting stories and it comes together in a way which makes you excited and make you go through a lot of emotions. Amun and Mehr are such great characters and their relationship was slow burn and I LOVED reading it. It is for all fantasy lovers especially those who love slow fantasy. I am excited for the rest of the books!

Untitled design

  • Have you read this book ? Is it on your TBR pile ?

  • Which characters are your favourite ?

  • Do you like slow paced books or fast paced books ?

Add a heading

7 thoughts on “REVIEW|| Empire of Sand-Tasha Suri // Atmospheric, Riveting and Beautiful Fantasy you MUST read

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s